Taking Off

Hello!

My name is Melissa. In Greek, this means Honey Bee. Growing up, I was never to fond of the origin.“Honey bee? That sounds so Foofy!”

And then a couple of years ago, I met a young woman who wore a glass jar pendant around her neck. And in it, a honey bee. And she changed my outlook. Honey bees, she explained, should not physically be capable of flying. The size of the wings and the amount of force they exert are just aerodynamically “wrong”. It was on the energy waves that they buzzed their little bums around. For this reason, honey bees symbolize achieving the impossible.

Not so foofy.

Just before we entered the year of 2015, I turned 25. Something about both the age and the year felt different than birthdays and new years usually feel to me (mostly irrelevant). It felt like the moment for some built-up energy to be addressed had undeniably arrived.

This July, I finish up my journey in AmeriCorps and there are so many possibilities of where the future could take me. I’ve always been one to dream big and miss the follow-through; a lot of interests and a lot of floundering approaches.

AmeriCorps gave me an excuse to put aside any exploration of hobbies and skills I’d like to develop. It was easy to say “I’m just working for others right now.” I’ve always been involved in community work but I was beginning to see part of it as a running-away from exploring my own expression and doing some deep me-time.

This is a year for me. No more excuses.

Humans love to run away from themselves. And no wonder; it is so easy to do and we don’t even have to run. every screen, book and person can provide ample distraction from something we just don’t want to admit. Basically, at every turn we have a choice to approach the hidden or hide from it.

I’m really into the concept of integrative systems. Again, another topic I haven’t developed expertise in because I’m a dabbler. But I do believe you can’t look at one thing without a host of other things arising. Still, on top of all my apprehensions and fears and put-off projects, there is a paramount issue that I feel at the crux of the stagnation. It has been my digestion. For those that have never battled severe digestive discomfort, it is hard to understand how debilitating it can be. It is even a shock to me sometimes, when I look back in retrospect and notice just how much vitality I have allowed it to take out of my life.

Through this blog, I would like to share with you my journey through healing the body, mind and soul and all of the new discoveries and projects I embark on because of it! I hope that writing of my experiences will be both an inspiration to you and a motivational tool for me. 

I’m nervous. 

But this year feels different. This year feels like the flight of the Honey Bee.

discoveries and projects I embark on because of it! I hope that writing of my experiences will be both an inspiration to you and a motivational tool for me.

I’m nervous.

But this year feels different. This year feels like the flight of the Honey Bee.

Leave a comment